Home > 6 String Electrics, Special Interest Guitars > Musicvox- Space Ranger

Musicvox- Space Ranger

The Musicvox Spaceranger….Well…where do you start on this one?

Obviously you have to mention the shape.
Retro, Cool, Wacky… all are apt descriptions of this instrument.

Cool stands out the most to me. With the huge lower bout, oversized headstock and unique placement of the tuning keys, the Space Ranger occupies a unique space in the world of guitars.

In the late 90’s this guitar was made famous through inclusion in the Austin Powers movies, and through play by members of bands such as the Polyphonic Spree. Now, after a dormancy of almost 10 years- Musicvox is back and thankfully- so is this guitar – The Space Ranger.

I received the Space Ranger on a Saturday morning and played it that night at a gig. I did no setup work, and did not even change the strings out. I tuned it, plugged it in and played an hour long set. That speaks volumes for this guitar. Straight from a shipping case to the stage- and I have no complaints. None- zero… The guitar stayed in tune with minor tunings between a couple songs.

The guitar also packs a wallop with it’s PAF styled pickups. I tend to play with a little more dirt on the amp, and these pickups translated that well. The action was low and sweet, with an extremely playable neck. It also stood  up to my rather harsh rhythm style- which says a lot.

The most telling thing about this guitar can be relayed in this quick story:

We had a fill-in bass player, so we had to sit down and run through the songs quickly before our soundcheck. During this quick “rehearsal”, I was interrupted no less than 3 times by people who wanted to see this guitar.

I can see this guitar becoming one of my top three gigging guitars….and I can see myself wanting more from Musicvox– it is that good.

(By the way- these guitars are available at the Musicvox Website for direct ordering. Very personable staff and great customer service to boot!… I think they have a facebook presence as well. )

6stringdeals.com review:

  1. Gene
    September 9, 2011 at 1:25 am

    I gotta say….that is the ugliest guitar I have ever seen! It looks like a drawing by a bad cartoonist.

    • stratoclay
      January 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      beauty is in the eye of the beholder.. It is out there for sure- but it plays like a dream…and it certainly draws a lot of attention every time I play it. thanks for reading.

  1. September 20, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

